About us The Board

Final committee

Kate Warner, Patron

Her Excellency Professor the Honourable Kate Warner AM is a founding member of the Alcorso Foundation and its Patron. President and Chair since December 2010, she was Chair of the Social Justice subcommittee for six years reflecting her strong interests in social change, law reform and human rights. Her Excellency is also Professor of Law at the University of Tasmania where she taught Criminal Law, Criminology, Sentencing and Evidence. She served as Dean of the Faculty of Law (1992–1994) and Head of Department in the Law School, and Director of the Law Reform Institute. She is a Foundation Fellow of the Australian Academy of Law, was a member or the Parole Board for ten years, a member of the Board of Legal Education, the Council of Law Reporting and the Tasmanian Gaming Commission, as well as sentencing editor for the Criminal Law Journal. Professor Warner’s research areas included sentencing and public opinion, criminal procedure and human rights and sexual offence law reform. Awards include the Bartholomew award for the best article in the Australian and New Zealand Journal of Criminology in 2003–2004. In 2014 she became the Governor of Tasmania.

Read Her Excellency’s speech at the Alcorso Foundation Farewell, held at Government House in September 2017.

Dr Caroline Alcorso, President and Secretary

Caroline lives in Sydney and is National Manager (Workforce Development) at National Disability Services (the peak body for disability not-for-profits). Previously Caroline worked for the federal government advisory body, Skills Australia, developing Workforce Futures, the Australian Workforce Development Strategy and the NSW State Government in the Education and Training, and Women’s agencies. She has a Bachelor of Arts from the University of Tasmania and a Master of Arts from Cambridge University, England. In 2006 she completed a Doctor of Philosophy degree at the University of Sydney on immigrants and labour management in the information technology and hotel industries. Caroline has extensive research, policy, advocacy and project management experience. She has worked for state and federal government, community organisation, unions and university-based research centres over the last 25 years and has acknowledged expertise in the areas of workplace relations and employment, equity issues, migration and multicultural affairs and environmental sustainability. Her voluntary commitments are in environmental politics and she is a keen ocean swimmer and bushwalker.

Paul Lyons, Treasurer and Public Officer

Paul is a Partner at Wise Lord & Ferguson and is a Chartered Accountant and Chartered Tax Adviser. He looks after some of Tasmania’s most high profile small to medium sized businesses as well as many private and family groups. He has wide ranging experience in property, retail, medical, professional services, through to vineyards, not- for-profits and leading entrepreneurial companies. Paul’s business expertise is across all core areas of taxation, profit improvement, business mentoring, cloud accounting, due diligence for new businesses, business planning, succession planning, business structuring and re-structuring. For family groups, his expertise is in tax and tax planning, strategy, estate planning, superannuation and SMSFs. He sits on the Chartered Accountants Australia and NZ Careers Marketing panel. He also works within the not for profit sector and is a proud member of local Tasmanian charities the Alcorso Foundation and at Speak Up Stay ChatTY.

Jenny Dudgeon, Board Member

Jenny is the Department of Education’s first Manager of Sustainability Programs delivering teaching and learning programs for students from preschool to Year 12 and professional learning for educators Kindergarten to Year 12 offering these programs at Tasmania’s Sustainability Learning Centre, an innovative and visionary, purpose built educational facility situated adjacent to prominent reserves near the Hobart College campus at Mt Nelson amongst 65 hectares of bushland which is habitat for a number of threatened species. Jenny is convenor of the Australian Association for Environmental Education(AAEE) – Tasmania chapter and board member of the national AAEE body. Since 2012 She has been the President of Early Childhood Educators of Tasmania – South Inc and is on the board of Network of Education Associations Tasmania (NEAT) representing early years educators. Recently Jenny was elected as Vice President of the Science Teachers Association of Tasmania. Since 2009 she has been convivium leader of Slow Food Hobart (SFH) which promotes access for all, to good food that is local, seasonal and fresh. SFH assists schools state-wide with their kitchen/garden programs. SFH also offers a biennial Slow Food Terra Madre Italian scholarship for an aspiring Tasmanian chef which is strongly supported by the international slow food movement. Jenny and her family manage Stonecrest Cherries at Sorell.

Elvio Brianese, Board Member

Elvio Brianese is a Director of Liminal Studio, an award winning practice in architecture, design and graphics. Elvio’s dedication to design excellence, creativity and cross disciplinary collaboration brings vision, innovation and foresight to the Foundation’s arts committee. Elvio has 25 years experience in architecture and design, is a passionate wine producer and had a strong connection to Claudio Alcorso growing up as a part of Tasmania’s Italian Community. Elvio Brianese is Tasmania’s Honorary Consul for Italy.