Our work Vitrify 2012


The Alcorso Foundation congratulate Vitrify’s 2012 winner Neville French and finalists:

Julie Bartholomew

Stephen Bird

Tania Rollond

The Alcorso Foundation’s national ceramic award, Vitrify

The Vitrify Alcorso Ceramic Award is a $10,000 annual prize for ceramic art. Established in 2011, the award is open to artists nationally and is non-acquisitive.

Four artists are selected from the entries received to develop work for a group exhibition of ceramic art at a commercial gallery. From these four artists, one is selected to receive the prize money. Selection of finalists and the judging of the award is made by a panel of expert judges.

Vitrify is presented by the Alcorso Foundation, a not-for profit cultural organisation with its home in Tasmania.

Vitrify 2012 was hosted by the JamFactory Gallery, Adelaide.

Judges for the 2012, Professor Noel Frankham, Head of the Hobart School of Art; Prue Venables, highly regarded ceramicist and Creative Director of the Ceramics Studio at the JamFactory; and Robert Reason, Curator of European and Australian Decorative Arts, the Art Gallery of South Australia selected this year’s four finalists Julie Bartholemew, Stephen Bird, Neville French and Tania Rollond.

Image Credits:

Ben Richardson
Photography Robin Roberts

Belinda Winkler
Photography Peter Whyte

Kim-Anh Nguye
Photography by Greg Piper

Prue Venables
Photography by Terence Bogue